WHA is pleased to announce a competitive scholarship award for 2017

Eligibility Criteria

  • Full-time graduate student in first- or second-year of studies
  • Currently enrolled in a public health or health administration degree program in a California college or university accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges
  • Evidence of commitment to a career in health administration and to advancing the goals of WHA
  • Current members of WHA Board of Directors are not eligible
  • Scholarship award limited to one award per lifetime
  • Selection based on eligibility and merit

Selection Procedures

  • WHA Board determines dollar amount and number of awards based on availability of WHA funds
  • Scholarship Committee notifies schools of available award(s) and publicizes Scholarship Program in WHA Digest email, and posts details on WHA website
  • Schools post notice of Scholarship Program and distribute applications
  • Interested students submit applications to WHA
  • Final selection made by WHA Board based upon recommendation of Scholarship Committee
  • Scholarship Committee notifies recipient(s) and award(s) is/are made
  • In addition to the dollar award, a one-year student membership in WHA is given to each scholarship recipient

The 2017 scholarship application is available here!

WHA welcomes individual and corporate contributions of any amount for our annual scholarship award. Please contact scholarship@whasocal.org for more information or to contribute.

Past Scholarship Recipients



2014 WOTY - Scholarship Winner

2013 Rachel Hornstein



Erica McCall
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health Executive Program

MPH, Health Policy and Management, Expected June 2017




Claire Crawley-Delgado
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
MPH, Health Policy and Management






Susan Kum
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health

MPH, Health Policy and Management






Rachel Hornstein
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
MPH, Health Policy and Management

 2012 Ebinehita Omofoma

2011 Bella Zaghi

2010 Diana Chingos

2009 Taguhi Sogomonyan

2008 Caron Hill


Ebinehita Omofoma
California State University, Long Beach (CSULB)






Bella Zaghi
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
MPH, Health Services Management








Diana Chingos
California State University Northridge (CSUN)







Taguhi Sogomonyan
California State University Los Angeles (Cal State LA)









Caron Hill
Chapman University

2007 Elizabeth Navarro

2006 Stephanie Heintz




Elizabeth Navarro
University of Southern California (USC)








Stephanie Miladin Heintz
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

2005 Estee Liebros  


Estee Liebros
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)